Writing a programming game, not sure on the best approach

Wanna understand E=mc2, English grammer, or maybe just build a computer? We can help!

Moderator: Moderators

BlackRider
Inmate

Writing a programming game, not sure on the best approach

Post by BlackRider »

I'm working on a simple battle-bots type game to help me develop a scripting system for a much larger project I've been dreaming up over the past few years.

My main focus here is to build a fast & robust script engine that can run several hundred scripts while not becoming a bottleneck in a 3d RTS game. Each robot/unit in the game would have its own script as its AI and the player can change/expand on it in-game. I would like a C styled syntax, but I'm not set on that.

The problem is that I've never done anything like this before and I'm feeling rather lost. Will an interpreter that parses each line of code at run-time be anywhere near sufficient? Should I compile it down to assembly or machine code and run that through the interpreter? Is there a way I can compile it into machine code and run it directly through the CPU instead of an interpreter?

The simple game I'm writing should help me determine how fast it needs to be and help me determine how many instructions per script per game update I can run before it becomes a resource hog.

Any direction would be appreciated.

P.S. I have taken some inspiration from the game Colobot. It was a lot of fun, but a little too simplistic.
XMEN Gambit
Site Admin

Post by XMEN Gambit »

You could experiment with (and take apart) the java program for Robocode.
http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/java/ ... -robocode/
http://robocode.sourceforge.net/?Open&c ... d-robocode